The Inside Story on How Lefty Named a Clouser Fly

Bob Clouser, (TFO Advisory Staff) teaches fly tying, casting and fishing and says the The Complete Cast: Applying Principles to Fresh & Saltwater Fly Casting with Lefty Kreh & Ed Jaworowski is “the best explanation of the principles of fly casting ever published. It proves that there is very little effort in moving the fly rod to exert energy throughout its length.”

Seems like any fly fisherman worth his salt has a good Lefty Kreh story to tell. Bob, who’s the creator of the Clouser Deep Minnow fly pattern known worldwide, credits Lefty with helping him name the famous fly. Clouser_Series

Clouser tells it like this:  “I first met Lefty when I was developing fly patterns for the smallmouth bass in the Susquehanna River that he and I loved to fly fish. I was in the process of developing the Clouser Minnow or the Clouser that it is now called. Lefty phoned me to ask how the river conditions were because he was bringing a friend up to fish.
“I said ‘very good, but I have something to give you to use that will out-catch any fly we ever cast to smallmouth.’ I heard a grunt on the other end of the line. When he arrived I put a half dozen of the flies in his hand and his first remark was, are these done? I said ‘yes’ and he and his friend went out on the river to fish. I mentioned that I would be over to check on how the flies were producing later in the day. TheCompleteCast-Cover-LowRes

“As I approached their boat I took notice that Lefty had on a red and white hackle fly. I asked how he was doing and said ‘not so good.’ I asked why he wasn’t using the new fly pattern I gave him.  His friend broke into a big smile that I have not seen in a long time and said: ‘Bob, I want to thank you. I just out-caught Lefty Kreh with six smallmouth to his one using your fly all day while Lefty was using a dozen of other patterns for testing your new fly.”

Lefty said, ‘What are you going to name that fly? I said he should name it since I am not good at that. He said, “Well, it is tied by Clouser and It goes deep and swims like a hurt baitfish. How about, Clouser’s Deep Minnow?’ The rest is history.”

The Complete Cast: Applying Principles to Fresh & Saltwater Fly Casting with Lefty Kreh & Ed Jaworowski is available as a Collector’s Edition DVD or as an instant download. Visit www.tforods.com/thecompletecast to select your purchase option.

The DVD includes both Blu-Ray (BRD) and Standard Definition for $49.95. The full video is also available to download for $39.95 while individual downloadable chapters start at $5.95 to purchase and $3.95 for rental.

The Complete Cast: Applying Principles to Fresh & Saltwater Fly Casting with Lefty Kreh & Ed Jaworowski is a 13-part series, produced by Temple Fork Outfitters and filmed by Bloomfield Knoble.

 

 

About templeforkoutfitters
Armed with a lifetime passion for fishing, we set out to establish a new standard of value for fly and conventional rods. We have relied on our own experience and advice of many professionals in creating what we believe is the perfect marriage - price and performance. Sound too good to be true? Cast one and you be the judge.

Leave a Reply

